KonkanFlavorss

Food has always attracted me and been away from home for years for my studies and work taught me the importance of good home made food. Food makes me happy. I have named by blog "KonkanFlavorss", I come from the konkan region of India and my food is majorly influenced by this region. I love eating and like to incorporate the delicious dishes I come across in my day to day life.

Roasted Carrot Soup

Leave a comment

Was little reluctant to try this recipe at first as I like carrots raw, in my salads or in carrot halwa. But this turned out very comforting and a great dish for supper.You can have it with a toasted bread or just as it is.

Roasted cut carrots with a piece of ginger and a tomato.I have been using oven a lot these days and its a easy way to get that extra flavor to your dish with roasting these vegetables.

DSC03338

DSC03336 Ingredients:

5 to 6 medium sized carrots

1/2 in ginger

1 medium sized tomato

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 medium sized onion

2 cloves garlic

1 tbsp butter

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tsp chilli powder

2 tbsp coriander/cilantro leaves

salt to taste

 

Method:

1. Preheat the oven at 375 degree Fahrenheit, roast carrots, ginger, tomatoes with pepper, salt and oil for 20 minutes.  Let them cool to room temperature, then blend to a rough consistency.

2. In the meantime take a deep skillet add butter, add finely chopped onions. Once caramelized add in chopped garlic, turmeric and chilli powder.  Cook for 2 minutes.

3. Incorporate the blended gravy to the skillet with onions and garlic, add water if required. I kept the soup to a thick consistency. Add salt to taste.

 

 

 

 

Do let me know your thoughts