KonkanFood

Food has always attracted me and been away from home for years for my studies and work taught me the importance of good home made food. Food makes me happy. I have named by blog "KonkanFood", I come from the konkan region of India and my food is majorly influenced by this region. I love eating and like to incorporate the delicious dishes I come across in my day to day life.

Egg plant curry

Leave a comment

Egg plant is a very versatile vegetable. Add to any preparation or just have it alone, it enhances the flavor. One of the meatless days and I tried and made this curry, very simple to do and requires a few ingredients.

IMG-20150619-WA0007(1)

Ingredients:

1 medium sized egg plant

1 medium sized potato

1 big sized tomato

1 tsp mustard seeds

3 tbsp oil

1 tbsp coriander powder

1 red dry whole chilli

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tbsp ginger-garlic paste

1 bunch coriander leaves

1 cup water

salt to taste

 

Method:

1. Take a heavy bottom pan, add the oil, once oil is hot add mustard and the whole chilli. Cook on a low to medium heat at the start, as this will not burn the spices.Once they splutter, add in the spices turmeric, chilli, coriander, ginger-garlic. Cook for 2 minutes.

2. Add finely chopped tomato and cook till it has reduced to a paste consistency.

3.Cut egg plant and potato in cube shape, add to the pan once tomato has completely cooked.Toss in the chopped coriander. Add a 1 cup water and cook the curry till you can easily pierce the potatoes.

Serve with rice and enjoy.

 

 

Do let me know your thoughts

